JavaScript Disabled. For a better experience on this website please enable JavaScript in your browser.


Grievance Committee

The Grievance Committee works to defend and protect the working rights of the bargaining unit members. The committee develops Association positions on all matters pertaining to the rights of Association members especially academic freedom, professional and personal leaves, administrative discipline and dismissal, and grievance procedures and complies data for the support of these positions in negotiations. The SEA has a full-time Professional Relations staff person who is also the grievance chairperson. The grievance chairperson oversees all grievances.

Committee of Political Education (COPE)

The COPE Committee functions as the liaison between Association members, School Committee, City Council, and state representatives and senators. They lobby for educational issues and keep members informed about important political decisions being made in education.

Superintendent's Committee

The Superintendent's Committee is a committee of five teachers appointed by the President, representing a cross section of membership, who meet with the Superintendent once a month. The purpose of this committee is to discuss matters of educational policy, curriculum, and improvements of educational climate in the Springfield Public Schools.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for preparing a yearly line item budget to be recommended to the Executive Board in preparation of the budget by the first meeting in April, except in a negotiating year where a supplementary budget may be necessary. They also review Association finances at least twice a year and make recommendations for budgetary adjustments to the Executive Board.

The Finance Committee consists of two members of the Executive Board elected by the Executive Board, two members of the Legislative Board elected by the Legislative Board, and five members-at-large appointed by the President with approval of the Executive Board.

Professional Development Committee

The Professional Development Committee promotes professional development among members by encouraging attendance at conferences and workshops and by disseminating information regarding professional development conferences and workshops. The committee members collaborate with the School Department in planning the seven professional development days provided through the Contract. Through an application process, this committee also disburses money for members to attend professional development conferences, workshops, and courses.

New Teachers Committee

The New Teacher Committee is responsible for organizing activities for new teachers and working on issues faced by new teachers. The committee members are the advocates for new teachers.

Elections Committee

The Elections Committee is responsible for conducting annual elections and for meeting the requirements of special elections. They are also responsible for determining the nomination and election procedures for candidates seeking office. After an election is held, the Election Committee members meet and count the votes.

No Association officer, or member of the Executive Board, may serve on the Election Committee. The committee consists of two representatives from elementary teachers, one from middle school teachers, and one from high school teachers. They are appointed by the President with advice and consent of the Executive Board.

Bylaws Committee

The Bylaws Committee consists of a chairperson and six members, appointed by the President, representing a cross section of the membership. The members solicit bylaw amendments from membership. The committee reviews, edits, and recommends proposed bylaw amendments. They also write an impact statement for each proposed amendment. It is their responsibility to notify membership of proposed bylaw amendments.

Sick Bank Committee

The Sick Bank Committee works with the School Department to review requests for extended sick leave. They meet on a bi-weekly basis to review the requests and determine eligibility. The members of the committee are also responsible for developing the procedures for requesting days from the Sick Bank.

The committee consists of three members. One member is appointed by the School Department; two members are appointed by the President and approved by the Executive Board.

City-Wide School Centered Decision Making Committee

The S.C.D.M. Committee acts as a resource for all S.C.D.M. teams. This includes an orientation that explains the theory and practice of school based management teams. They also provide training in the skills that are necessary to develop and implement effective S.C.D.M. teams.

Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee members are responsible for reading and reviewing all submitted scholarship applications and selecting recipients based on a rubric. The committee members award the scholarships at the June Legislative Board meeting.

The committee consists of the SEA Vice President as Chairperson, five members appointed by the President and approved by the Executive Board.