JavaScript Disabled. For a better experience on this website please enable JavaScript in your browser.

Contact Your Legislators Day- June 9, 2015

Published:  June 9, 2015

SEA members are urged to contact their state representatives - please see the list below- and senators on Tuesday, June 9, as part of the Massachusetts Education Justice Alliance’s Week of Action on high-stakes testing.

Tuesday, which is Contact Your Legislators Day, gives educators the opportunity to tell their elected representatives about the devastating impact that high-stakes testing is having on students, schools and communities – and to urge them to testify in support of House Bill 340, An Act Relative to a Moratorium on High-Stakes Testing and PARCC.

The legislation would institute a three-year moratorium on the high-stakes use of testing and create a task force to study how the focus on testing is changing our schools.

You can reach out to your state senator and state representative 24 hours a day — from now until Thursday, June 11 — when the Legislature’s Joint Committee on Education will conduct a hearing on H.B. 340.

If you call your legislators during business hours, you are likely to be connected to a staff person. If you call after hours, please be prepared to leave a message. The strongest message you can send is to tell your own story about the ways that testing is affecting your students and your school.

 

Brian Ashe                617-722-2017               Brian.Ashe@mahouse.gov
                                    413-754-4184

Angelo Puppolo        617-722-2430               Angelo.Puppolo@mahouse.gov
                                    413-596-4333

Carlos Gonzalez      617-722-2080               Carlos.Gonzalez@mahouse.gov
                                    413-251-0007

Jose Tosado            617-722-2320               Jose.Tosado@mahouse.gov
                                   413-788-0683

Benjamin Swan       617-722-2380               Benjamin.Swan@mahouse.gov
                                   413-739-8572

Michael Finn            617-722-2400               Michael.Finn@mahouse.gov
                                413-363-1965

Thomas Petrolati      617-722-2255             Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov
                                 413-547-0435

Eric Lesser               617-722-1291              eric.lesser@masenate.gov
                                    413-526-6501

James Welch           617-722-1660              James.Welch@masenate.gov

                                   413-306-5179 

 

Article Tags
Subscribe

Make sure you join our email list so you receive important updates regarding pay, voting credentials etc. from the SEA.

Share
Archive